Lia Näpflin/Jungfrau Zeitung


«There's a lot of manual work in the Hundschopf»


Head of Route Section 2 Guido Küchler on the construction of the Lauberhorn run



Without the many helpers, no ski racer would be able to complete the Lauberhorn run. Guido Küchler is one of them. He works at the army’s logistics base, and is responsible for preparing Route Section Two of the slope. This is the upper part, and it includes the legendary Hundschopf.

 

As a layperson, you wouldn't think that there was much to do by hand on the Hundschopf. After all, the skiers are in the air at this point, so surely there is no need to have a freshly prepared base? Well, it's not that simple. Guido Küchler is responsible for making sure that the ski professionals take off in the first place. His solution: a jump-off platform just before the sloping edge.

 

"The Hundschopf is built so that the skiers fly beautifully. I achieve that by building the jump-off negatively, tilted downwards," he explains. The rough work is started by machines, but as soon as it's time to get down to the details there is a lot of manual work on the Hundschopf.

 


Challenging jump


Guido Küchler is a purist, and it's important to him that the piste should be natural. A route that is too artificial is less of a challenge. So he makes sure that the demanding jump remains true to its reputation and is not toned down too much. "For several years, the Hundschopf was built conservatively, but today we're heading more in the opposite direction, and the jump is becoming more spectacular," he enthuses, going on to say: "The important thing is that the flight and landing are clean for the athletes. The approach to the jump and the jump itself should be more challenging for them again."

 

Reconciling challenging terrain and best times is not an easy task for many. And there's no stepping on the brake pedal on the Hundschopf. But the Hundschopf builder also has a warning: "A low speed is critical, because as a skier you'll take off with too little strength and in the worst case, touch down again before the actual landing. Like a rubber ball."

 

The ski professionals who fly over the Hundschopf confirm time and again that Guido Küchler is doing a great job as a piste track builder. He himself has also already taken off from his structure on skis. Although he didn't quite manage 40 metres.

Lia Näpflin/Jungfrau Zeitung


«Le Hundschopf exige beaucoup de travail manuel»


Responsable de la portion de piste 2, Guido Küchler nous parle de la fabrication de la descente du Lauberhorn



Sans l’intervention de nombreux assistants, aucun skieur ne pourrait venir à bout de la descente du Lauberhorn. Guido Küchler fait partie de ceux-là. Il travaille à la base logistique de l’armée et il est responsable de la piste, en tant que chargé de la préparation de la portion 2 du tracé. C’est dans cette partie en haut de piste que se situe le mythique Hundschopf.

 

Quand on ne s’y connait pas, on peut penser qu’il n’y a pas grand-chose à faire de ses dix doigts pour façonner le Hundschopf. Les skieurs se trouvant dans les airs, la préparation du sol est une question annexe. Et pourtant, les choses ne sont pas si simples. En effet, c’est Guido Küchler qui a la responsabilité du décollage des skieurs pro. Il a une solution pour les aider: un tremplin avant le rebord de la descente.

 

«Le Hundschopf est formé de telle sorte que les skieurs effectuent un beau vol dans les airs. Pour parvenir à ce résultat, je construis la zone d’appel avec une inclinaison vers le bas», explique G. Küchler. Au départ, ce sont des machines qui se chargent du gros œuvre. Mais ensuite, il y a beaucoup de travail manuel sur le Hundschopf pour pouvoir façonner les détails.

 


Un saut exigeant


G. Küchler est un puriste. Pour lui, une piste doit être naturelle. Un tracé trop artificiel implique moins de difficultés. Voilà pourquoi il veille à ce que le saut mythique du Lauberhorn reste fidèle à sa réputation et ne soit pas trop édulcoré. «Pendant plusieurs années, le Hundschopf a été construit de façon plutôt conservatrice. Aujourd’hui, la tendance s'inverse, pour que le saut soit à nouveau spectaculaire», se réjouit G. Küchler. Puis il ajoute: «Ce qui importe, c’est que le vol et l’atterrissage soient bien nets pour les athlètes. Le départ et le saut devraient à nouveau être plus exigeants pour les skieurs.»

 

Faire coïncider terrain difficile et meilleurs temps est un pari osé pour beaucoup. Sur le Hundschopf, pas question d’appuyer sur la pédale de frein. Notre maître d'œuvre alerte même: «Il ne faut surtout pas aller trop lentement; car dans ce cas, le skieur n’a pas suffisamment de puissance quand il saute et dans le pire des cas, il risque de rebondir avant l’atterrissage final. Comme une balle de caoutchouc.»

 

D’année en année, les skieurs professionnels qui sautent le Hundschopf confirment la qualité du travail de G. Küchler en tant que constructeur de piste. Il a lui-même déjà arpenté à skis son ouvrage, même si son saut n’a pas atteint les 40 mètres.